In trying to be the best, Time Management is a crucial component.  A recent discussion I had with my Mentor turned me on to a book that he felt would help me in understanding time.  The book he recommended was “The 80/20 Principle” by Richard Koch.  Of course one of the lessons I learned years ago from Zig Ziglar was Automobile University.  Maximizing my idle time spent in my 2010 Ford Taurus SHO traveling back and forth from my job here in Dearborn or wherever I might be traveling to as much as possible.  I listen to many books and then pick-up the hardback if I feel I need to have this in my library for future reference, maybe this is not being economical but I see it as the “Best” use of my time.

This morning Mr. Koch spoke about what are the, “Worst uses of time”, those things that are unproductive and need to be eliminated from your daily activity and the, “Best uses of time”, those that will return you the most and greatest benefit with least amount of effort.  Here is the list of the top 10 “Worst uses of time”: 

1)       Thing other people want you to do.

2)       Things that have always been done this way.

3)       Things you’re not usually good at doing.

4)       Things you don’t enjoy doing.

5)       Things that are always interrupted

6)       Things that few people are interested in.

7)       Things that have already taken up twice as much time as you originally expected.

8)       Things where your associates are unreliable or of low quality.

9)       Things that have a predictable cycle.

10)    Answering the telephone.

As you read through the list, did any of these hit home.  Many of them sent off the spark in my head.  If you are able to take this list and think of ways you might eliminate just some of these things, you will see an improvement in your time.  Just don’t do things because someone asks.  Time that can be spent on the “Best uses of time”, the time that will benefit you the most and have the greatest return on you investment, “Time”.  Here is the list of the Top 10 Best uses of time”:

1)       Things that advance your overall purpose in life.

2)       Things you have always wanted to do.

3)       Things that are already in the 20/80 principle of results. (What do you do that takes 20% of the time and results in 80% of the return.)

4)       Innovative ways that slash the time required to and or multiply the quality of results.

5)       Things other people tell you can’t be done.

6)       Things other people have done successfully in another arena.

7)       Things that use your own creativity.

8)       Things you can get other people to do for you with little effort on your part.

9)       Things where your associates have already used the 20/80 principle and that you can use effectively.

10)    Things that are Now or Never.

Listening to this list of 10, one that stands out in my mind is a rule that I have always lived by and that is “To not reinvent the wheel”, or what I think he is saying in number 9.  As you’ve read in a previous post I am a follower of Anthony Robbins and he I believe would subscribe to the point in number 9.  Koch speaks of being ruthless in your pursuit to follow these guidelines listed above. 

I hope that this list helps you to better think about your time.  I would recommend reading, or listening to this book to you.  It is not a Time Management how to book.  He really speaks to thinking about what are those actions through your continuum of time that result in the least return or the highest return.

 Take care and have a terrific day.